Documentation Index

Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.comgate.eu/llms.txt

Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

Preauthorisation on terminal

Prev Next

Preauthorisation is a temporary hold of funds on the cardholder's account. It can be used, for example, to reserve goods and services or when the final transaction amount is not known in advance.

Activating the function

To activate the preauthorisation on terminal contact our customer support.

Preauthorisation from the payer's perspective

From the customer's perspective, this is a standard card payment on the terminal. Once completed, the amount is blocked on the customer's account (not immediately deducted).

Entering a preauthorisation on the terminal

The merchant enters the amount to be preauthorised on the terminal. Information regarding the hold of funds is received immediately via the terminal.

  1. On the home screen of the terminal, tap the Switchio Pay app.

  2. Go to the Dashboard tab.

  3. Tap the PreAuth icon.

  4. Enter the amount you want to preauthorise and confirm by tapping the Pay button.

  5. The customer presents their card to the terminal reader.

  6. The terminal approves or declines the transaction (e.g. in case of insufficient funds).

Subsequently, the authorisation must either be completed or cancelled.

Overview of open preauthorisations on the terminal

Preauthorisations awaiting completion or cancellation can be found on the terminal under Switchio Pay → PreAuth Transactions in the Open PreAuths list.

Example pre-authorisation list on the terminal

Overview of open preauthorisations in the Client Portal

You can also find open preauthorisations in the Client Portal under the Payments section.

After clicking on the payment record, you can find the expiration date of the preauthorised payment in the Transaction Detail – this is the date when the amount will be automatically unblocked (unless you complete or cancel it yourself before then, see Time limit for preauthorisation completion below).

Example of open pre-authorisation in the Transaction Detail

Completion of preauthorisation

Completion of preauthorisation means deducting the funds from the payer's account. It is carried out directly on the terminal.

The presence of the payer or presenting the payment card is not required to complete a preauthorisation.

Completion of preauthorisation is possible:

  • for the full amount – the entire preauthorised amount will be deducted from the customer's account

  • for a lower amount – a lower amount than originally blocked will be deducted from the account

It is never possible to deduct a higher amount than was blocked during preauthorisation. Neither is partial/gradual completion possible; the remaining amount is unblocked.

Completing a preauthorisation on the terminal

  1. On the home screen of the terminal, tap the Switchio Pay app.

  2. Go to the Dashboard tab.

  3. Tap PreAuth Transactions.

  4. In the following Open PreAuths window, tap the preauthorisation you wish to work with.

  5. In the following PreAuth Detail window, tap the Complete button.

  6. In the following window, enter the amount you want to deduct from the customer (a lower amount, or the originally preauthorised amount).

  7. Tap the Continue button. The preauthorisation will be completed and the amount deducted from the payer's account.

Example of completion of a pre-authorisation

Time limit for preauthorisation completion

The merchant is obliged to complete the preauthorisation within 30 days from the initiation date, otherwise it will be automatically cancelled and the funds unblocked. The exception applies to Maestro, Visa Electron, and V PAY cards, where the completion period is shortened to 7 days.

Overview of completed preauthorisations in the Client Portal

Completed preauthorisations are displayed in the Client Portal as a standard payment with the date of the preauthorisation completion.

Cancellation of preauthorisation

Cancellation of preauthorisation means unblocking the full preauthorised amount on the payer's account. After cancellation, the payer can use the funds again.

It is carried out directly on the terminal.

The presence of the payer or presenting the payment card is not required to complete a preauthorisation.

Cancelling a preauthorisation on the terminal

  1. On the home screen of the terminal, tap the Switchio Pay app.

  2. Go to the Dashboard tab.

  3. Tap PreAuth Transactions.

  4. In the following Open PreAuths window, tap the preauthorisation you wish to work with.

  5. In the following PreAuth Detail window, tap the Cancel button. The amount is unblocked immediately.

Example of cancelling of a preauthorisation

Additional increase/decrease of the preauthorised amount

Additional increase/decrease of the originally preauthorised amount (Increment/Decrement icons) is not available on all terminals.

If you need to perform a preauthorisation again for a different amount, cancel the original preauthorisation (Cancel icon) and enter a new preauthorisation (the payer must present the card again to block the funds).

Example of increasing/decreasing preauthorisation (red icons may not be available)